top of page

The Season of The Plough

Book I of the Travalaith Saga


The Prophecy was wrong. There is no Chosen One.


Coming of age under the weight of an epic destiny wasn’t easy. All Aewyn ever wanted for herself was a home and a family. But to the farmers of Widowvale, she was always destined for greatness. After all, she was a fae-blooded foundling of mysterious birth. Her story was the stuff of fairy-tales. And the villagers, all refugees from a looming civil war, were in desperate need of something to believe in.

But prophecies can be misread, and the men who call themselves wise are often mistaken. When a primordial darkness stirs in the deep wood, and Aewyn’s dubious old mentor is sentenced to hang for treason, the supposed Chosen One must live or die by a choice of her own:

Will she forsake her home and her new family for the dubious destiny she's been promised—or sacrifice it all for one chance to save them?

High praise for The Season of the Plough:

"What an impressive début! I love The Season of the Plough. Characters that came alive and real the moment I met with them on the pages...this book often feels like a chronicle of a real place. Highly recommended."

     —Ed Greenwood, bestselling creator of the Forgotten Realms

"Luke Maynard continues this tradition intelligent and appealing book."

     —Thomas M. Kane, author of The Witches of Crannock Dale

★★★★★ “The attention to detail here is almost staggering…this promises to be a top-quality series.”

     —Amazon Reviewer

★★★★★ “I am astounded such a fantastic book came from a first-time author. This book was amazingly written.”

     —Goodreads Reviewer

Heading 1

Read it today!

Paperback/Hardcover/Kindle edition

(always free on #KindleUnlimited)


Or support local indie bookstores here:

bottom of page